Lionel Messi wins his 7th Ballon d’Or award

Lionel Messi, Argentine international and former Barcelona superstar has again made history as he toped FC Bayern München’s Robert Lewandowski and Chelsea’s Jorginho to win his 7th Ballon d’Or award on Monday night.


Messi leading his national side to lift the Copa America with Argentina as they beat hosts Brazil in the final, was one of the boasts he needed in his career to land the award for the 7th time. He also made history as the only national and club professional footballer to win the award 7 times in their career. 


Despite Messi naming fellow teammates Kylian Mbappe and Neymar to win the 2020 Ballon d’Or award, Polish professional footballer, Robert Lewandowski was the favourite to lift the award, but he came second in votes.

Lionel Messi Ballon dOr award stats
Lionel Messi Ballon dOr award stats


Lewandoski’s outstanding performance of scoring 73 goals in 60 games for his club since the start of last season didn’t go unnoticed as he went home with FIFA’s and UEFA’s men’s player of the year awards in 2020.


Chelsea’s midfilder and Italy star, Jorge Luiz Frello Filho Cavaliere OMRI otherwise known as Jorginho, won the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award following Chelsea’s glory in Europe and in Porto back in May.


The 2020 Ballon d’Or award ceremony was supposed to hold on 20th July, 2020, but was called off  due to the impact of the Covid-19 and it was been re-scheduled, then held on Monday night, 29th November 2021, this is the first time its happened since 1956.


In the same Same way, the Euro 2020 competition was scheduled to hold from 12th June 2020, was pushed 1 year forward from 2020 to 2021 due to Covid-19, with Jorginho’s national team, Italy lifting the trophy the second time, after beating England in penalty.


Also Read:   Mom Cries out After Finding Spirit inside a Cough Syrup She Bought for her Baby (Video)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.