Indonesia bans Nigeria and 7 other African countries Due to Omicron

Nigeria, South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique and Eswatini have been banned from entering Indonesia, after reports that a new covid-19 variant called Omicron was discovered in South Africa. So the Indonesian government, their quest to bite more than they can chew, decided make bar these Africans countries till further notice.



The restriction which has already taken effect on Monday, 29th September,2021,  means that people from these African countries will not be admitted into Indonesia, while people who have been to any of of these African countries are to placed on constant monitoring and possible quarantine.


The Indonesia’s coordinating minister Luhut Pandjaitan disclosed that the law banning of Nigeria and these African countries will be reviewed after every 14 days, he added;


“Omicron has spread to more countries, so to respond to these developments, today the government wants to carry out the following policies,”



All other travelers entering the country will have to quarantine for seven days compared to the previous three days policy, he added.


In another part of the world, Ontario’s Ministry of Health has confirmed two cases of the Omicron COVID-19 variant in Canada, in two individuals with recent travel records from Nigeria.

Contrary to what other parts of the world believe, Dr Akinwumi Adesina who is the President of the African Development Bank, has come out to clarify, saying on Sunday that Africa was not the source of COVID-19 which was first discovered in China two years ago.

Mr Adesina further requested that the continent should not be punished for the Omicron COVID-19 variant and other mutations that occur randomly anywhere in the world.


Omicron is potentially more contagious than previous variants, including the Delta variant. Although experts are still gathering more information if it will cause more or less severe COVID-19 compared to other strains.


Also Read:   British Government warns Their citizens not to travel to 12 states in Nigeria



Share on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *